July 14, 2020

This author is happy about two strong reviews of Ghost Cat.

“With her extraordinary and narrative driven storytelling style, author and novelist Helen Currie Foster once again exhibits her mastery of the mystery genre with the publication of "Ghost Cat", the newest addition to her consistently entertaining 'Alice MacDonald Greer' series of deftly crafted suspense/thriller novels. An inherently fascinating read filled with many an unexpected twist and turn, "Ghost Cat" will prove to be an immediate and enduringly popular addition to community library Contemporary Mystery/Suspense collections.”

June 2020 Midwest Book Review, http://midwestbookreview.com/sbw/jun_20.htm#mysterysuspense

Booklife calls Ghost Cat an “Editors Pick,” terming it “Great for fans of Alexander McCall Smith’s The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, M.C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin series” and “a big hit for audiences craving a new mystery series to binge-read.” Here’s the whole review, scheduled to be out in print August 3, 2020:

In Foster’s fast-paced sixth Alice MacDonald Greer mystery (after Ghost Next Door), the small-town Texas lawyer contends with feuding clients and dead bodies. Alice is still reeling from discovering a body at the edge of her land, but it’s otherwise business as usual. Her current clients include a former pro football player turned vintner who wants to buy out his partner, a new client wanting to set up a trust for her sister in a care facility, and a couple complaining about mysterious vehicles entering and exiting their neighbor’s property. When one client is found shot and another almost suffocated, Greer is desperate to find out why they’re being targeted, and by whom. Among her suspects are a solitary new resident whom neighbors call the Hermit, a cowgirl with a missing finger, and a client’s bull-headed, disgruntled partner.

Foster quickly sets up elements of mystery from the very first page, with the mention of a ranch hand’s missing sister and the potentially problematic gunshots heard nearby. The intrigue keeps building through the novel as Alice builds formidable list of possible suspects and uncovers new clues in this deftly paced and formulated plot. Poised and self-assured, Alice is a refreshing protagonist. Her quick comebacks, fearless sleuthing skills, and sensitivity in her quietly budding midlife romance make her a likable and well rounded heroine.

The engaging dialogue flows naturally and effectively brings out the personalities of secondary characters such as Alice’s indomitable secretary, Silla, whose liveliness adds lightness to the story. The uncluttered prose boasts several evocative turns of phrases, and the atmospheric descriptions are succinct and vivid, highlighting the rugged and bountiful landscape of Texas Hill Country. Foster’s skillful plotting, easy pace, and captivating characters will be a big hit for audiences craving a new mystery series to binge-read.

Takeaway: This sleuthing Texas attorney will hit the mark with readers who love mysteries featuring guns, cowboys, and a spunky female lead.

Great for fans of Alexander McCall Smith’s The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, M.C. Beaton’s Agatha Raisin series.

Production grades

Cover: A

Design and typography: A

Illustrations:

Editing: A

Marketing copy: A